Mo (mofic) wrote,

Another Getting to Know You Meme

You know how sometimes people on your friend's list post about stuff going on in their life, and all of a sudden you think "Wait a minute? Since when are they working THERE? Since when are they dating HIM/HER? since when???" And then you wonder how you could have missed all that seemingly pretty standard information, but somehow you feel too ashamed to ask for clarification because it seems like info you *should* already know? It happens to all of us sometimes.

Please copy my response below, erase my answers putting yours in their place then post it in your journal! Please elaborate on the questions that would benefit from elaboration! One-word answers seldom help anyone out.

1. First Name: Dale

2. Age: 52

3. Location: Brooklyn, NY. I live in a neighborhood called Park Slope, that's just perfect for me. Very kid-friendly, very lesbian-friendly, easy commute, great housing stock. But it has gotten really expensive in recent years. More Wall St. types, fewer lesbian families.

4. Occupation: Public Health IT, specializing in Emergency Management. I run a web-based system for doctors and other medical providers that gives them current information on urgent and emergent public health issues. I also develop plans for IT response in various kinds of emergencies, plan simulation exercises and "play" them, etc. It's great, great fun and I'm so glad I'm doing this. Most of my career I worked in IT in finance (most of that with the Federal Reserve). This is a lot more fun but the pay is lousy.

5. Partner: I'm divorced. My ex and I coparent lives in our home while we figure out what to do with it. I live in a rental a few blocks away. I've dated a bit since the divorce (7 years ago) and had two significant relationships that each lasted more than two years but, as Bertie Wooster would say, no business resulted. I've been seeing a woman who lives in the next neighborhood over since January and things are going very well.

6. Kids: Doran is 19 and in college after a brief misguided stint in the Marines (luckily they thought he wasn't Marine material, too). Kendra is 15 and in high school. Zara is 13 and in middle school. I have three teenagers until October 25. My ex and I took turns giving birth. The kids were all conceived through donor insemination with unknown donors (and three different sperm banks). We coparent - the girls spend week on/week off. Doran mostly is with me this summer (better location for getting to his summer job) but spends the occasional night with his other mother and has meals with her regularly or helps her out as needed.

7. Brothers/Sisters: I'm the second of six. My older brother, Joel, lives in Minneapolis with his wife and two daughters. He's a writer (he's the sci fi Joel Rosenberg, not the political thriller one) and a pro-gun activist and gun safety trainer.

Just younger than me was Hart, who was born the same week that Sputnik was launched. Hart had a brain injury during childhood and was severely disabled after that. He died of a stroke a year and a half ago.

Then comes Carol, known in the family when we were growing up as Kayo. She's a journalist, reports on Guantanamo Bay for the Miami Herald. She and Joel are the famous sibs. She's single and has no kids.

Then Mark, who lives in a suburb of Boston with his wife and two kids. He teaches high school history.

The youngest is my wise and wonderful baby sister Sharon. She lives with her wife and son in St. Paul. Sharon's a Jewish educator and won a national prize for excellence in Jewish education last year. We try to get together once or twice a year, but we email at least weekly.

8. Pets: I have none. I really like animals, and I've had dogs and cats at various points in my life (not at the same time) but right now I'm really happy to be responsible for no additional living beings beyond myself and my kids.

9. List the 3-5 biggest things going on in your life:
a)My kids. If any of you with little kids think it gets easier when they're bigger, it doesn't. It's different but your need to parent doesn't lessen for a long time.

b)Work. As mentioned above, I love my job. And it takes up a lot of my time and energy.

c)Vicki. We're still to some extent in the Getting to Know You stage, but we're both really happy. We wish we could see each other more, but kid responsibilities (she has a 12-year-old and is the sole parent) we're both somewhat constrained on time.

10. Where and for what did you go to school for?

I have a BA in Quantitative Psychology (basically a double major in math and psych) from McGill University in Montreal and a Master's in Library and Information Science from SUNY Albany. Oh and I did a graduate certificate in banking when I was at the Fed, at Adelphi University. It made so little impression on me that I'd totally forgotten about it until I came across the diploma recently.

I'm a bit of a school junkie and am always taking some course or other. Pre-kids I took classes at AMNH (the museum and the planetariaum), the 92d Street Y, Continuing Education classes at NYU, etc. When the kids were little I made do with "mommy and me" classes at the zoos, museums and aquarium. I've been taking a lot of Jewish adult ed in recent years.

11. Parents: My father was a country doctor during my early childhood, and then we moved East and he did a psychiatry residency. He was in private practice for most of his career as a psychiatrist. He died last summer. My mother was a SAHM for all of my childhood. She lives in suburban Connecticut.

My parents disowned me when I came out at 19, and insisted that all of the extended family do the same. Some of my sibs went along.

12. Who are some of your closest friends?
I have three "best friends" I think. One's a gay man, one's a lesbian, and one's a straight woman. How diverse of me!
Tags: meme
  • Post a new comment


    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

    When you submit the form an invisible reCAPTCHA check will be performed.
    You must follow the Privacy Policy and Google Terms of use.